Submissions are now closed for the 2021 George E. Thibault, MD Nexus Award. The winners will be announced during the Nexus Summit.


The George E. Thibault, MD Nexus Award celebrates exemplary interprofessional collaboration in the United States and those who are thinking and acting differently where practice and education connect in health systems.

This award will recognize two Nexus partnerships of health systems, clinics, educational institutions, and/or community organizations for extraordinary contributions to the Nexus: Redesigning both healthcare education and healthcare delivery simultaneously to be better integrated and more interprofessional while demonstrating outcomes.


In 2021, the National Center will recognize two Nexus partnerships demonstrating:

  • local, single system implementation
  • broader multi-system implementation

The simultaneous transformation of the health system and education requires leadership in both large system and local innovation of all types and at all levels. Focused innovative programs can have profound ripple effects in systems, as can visionary large multi-system initiatives. The lessons from both are needed and important. The National Center seeks to identify and recognize partnerships that are moving the needle in interprofessional practice and education within and across organizations.


2021 Thibault Nexus Award Categories

  • Local, single system: Meaningful integration of interprofessional education and collaborative practice in local implementation predominantly in a single setting or local network that leverages strong education and practice partnerships.
  • Multi-System Implementation: Visionary cross-organizational, systems-level partnerships with multiple organizations and groups in partnership with people/patients, families and communities such as statewide or regional IPE collaboratives, health system-community-education organizations partnerships, and national organizations.

Application, Selection Process, and Notification

Applications and supporting materials are submitted online. The Nexus Summit 2021 planning and awards committee will review applications for alignment with the criteria below and the concept of the Nexus. The deadline for submission was Friday, August 13, 2021. Awardees will be notified by Friday, August 27, 2021.

Note: past applicants and honorable mention recipients are welcome and encouraged to apply!

Application Criteria

Applications (maximum of three pages, single-spaced, 1-inch margins, and 12-point font) must include the following:

  • Purpose statement for the initiative or practice model
  • Brief history (including inception date) of the initiative, practice model, and identification of key stakeholders within the initiative. It is required that the initiative has been operational for at least two years as of August 13, 2021
  • Clear articulation of how the initiative demonstrates leadership and innovation in the integration of collaborative practice and interprofessional education, in academic and practice partnership(s) at the specified award level
  • Description of the initiative or practice model to include:
    • How the initiative or practice model functions
    • How the key elements listed under Criteria are reflected
    • Evidence of impact
  • The initiative must be associated with measurable outcomes. The application must provide evidence of these outcomes.

A representative of the initiative must be able to attend Nexus Summit 2021 and share highlights from the initiative or practice model during the Award Celebration.


Questions regarding the Thibault Nexus Award can be directed to Angela Willson at